News Ticker

How to use the Google translate widget on WordPress.com

Everyone who has a multilingual blog knows the conundrum: Should I write every article twice or should I use a translator? And if it is the latter, how can I use a translator since WordPress.com doesn’t allow Java script and other widgets containing dynamic codes? After browsing for a long time I found the answer. 

I searched through a lot of forums and other homepages looking for a suitable translator for my wordpress.com blog. After a short while I already found two options that worked for a lot of people:

The Translation Button of the “Free Website Translation” and the
Google Translate Widget without Java.

But on my blog neither of these methods worked right because the codes coudn’t be changed as easily as I wanted them to. Because both codes act on the assumption that English is the original language of the blog. But (in my case) I wanted the option that readers can translate my German articles into their preferred language in addition to translate my English posts. Then I found a code in a wordpress.com forum, that contains already a lot of languages, and that made it possible to change the original and the target language more individually. You can also see it in the screenshot below:

screenshot1

Because I’m not an IT-expert for me this code is perfect. Let me show you how easily you can change the original and target language.
As you can see in the picture the code was made for bloggers who have English as their original language. You can see that on the basis of the abbreviation “en” after every “translate?hl=en&langpair=en”. But you can easily change the original by changing the abbreviation. As you can see on the next screenshot I changed the “en” to “de” because this is the abbreviation for German.

screenshot2

In this picture you can also see that you can add any target language you want. I simply added “English” after the code part “title=”English”>English</a>. And so on. Because the code for each language is always the same. It starts with “<a href=” and ends with </a> and therefore it can quickly be edited. You simply have to put the language name, like “Spanish” for example, at the end of the code.
Note: When you copy the code you have to make sure to replace the URL with the URL of your blog.

Now have fun with multilingual blogging!

Leave a Reply

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

what SISTER RAY says

Reality is for people who are scared of unicorns.

The Art of Felipe Kroll

"Sometimes quiet is violent"

word and silence

poetry & prose by Tim Miller

LOWLIFE MAGAZINE

"Find what you love and let it kill you." – Charles Bukowski

thewellredmage.wordpress.com/

"But some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again."

THE SUBLIMINAL HERALD

“Don’t let the darkness grow, everyone has their own light so keep it burning, keep it adamant, for we will never fade!”

